Waking Title

Having never made time for closure
I leave a trail of unfinished business

in my wake

Piles of snow tires you will have to haul off or lose your deposit
An empty pan of poppy seed bread soaking in the sink
Intimations of intimacy unfulfilled

And I take things

The spare set of keys to the car you lent me
Sweatshirts I never intended to return
Your trust

But facing you…

Your labored commitment to the final closure,
The silence that followed,
The letting out of breath,
The sunshine and sighs,
The final cup of coffee,
The final call

I no longer turn from conclusions

I have become devoted, too

the last bell of the day
the last ten yards of the run
the last sentence
and the punctuation that follows.

Leave a Reply

