Day 5…or is it 6? – Crazy.Human.Being

Everyone loves a little loophole, if we’re being honest. Humans are so good at rationalizing, self-justifying, and bias confirmation-ing our way through the day. I mean…other people are. Not you. You don’t do that. Me neither.

My friend Annie once introduced me to a group of people, “This is my friend Barbara. She can justify anything.” What may sound very Machiavellian, is most often used to justify small things (like not writing a blog yesterday) not big things (like annexing large portions of Eastern Ukraine).

So…to address (allegedly) taking a day off from writing yesterday, my justifications in no particular order:

  • TECHNICALLY Sundays are not counted in the 40 days of Lent (because, so goes the reasoning, Sunday is always supposed to be a day to celebrate the resurrection) and since there are 6 Sundays in Lent…I get 6 days off. I choose yesterday.
  • Okay, TECHNICALLY that means I should’ve taken TODAY instead of YESTERDAY off, but there was the teeny tiny matter of,
  • Head Lice.
  • Then there’s the fact that TECHNICALLY…post 4 may have taken a little longer than 30 minutes…I mean there was all the captioning I had to do, plus,
  • Since I published my last edit on post 4 after 12 am yesterday morning, I basically stacked two 30 minute writing sessions back to back. Which brings us to,
  • No one cares but me. Not to mention,
  • You’re probably more weirded out by the head lice comment…which, no, I’m not elaborating on because I’m getting itchy just thinking about it…and we were TOTALLY already planning to cut my daughter’s hair this weekend.

I once told someone, in one of my best/worst self-justified moments, “For all the work you do trying to convince everyone you’re a good guy…you could just be a good guy. It’d be a lot simpler.”

So now, not only did I technically not write a blog yesterday…now I’ve spent just as much time justifying why I didn’t have to in the first place.

Humans. We be crazy.

And itchy.

1 thought on “Day 5…or is it 6? – Crazy.Human.Being”

Leave a Reply

